Nikon D3200 Digital Slr Camera Review

By | 12/10/2022

Domicile
  Donate  NewSearch  Gallery  Reviews  How-To  Books  Links  Workshops  Nigh  Contact


Nikon D3200





24MP DX, 3″ LCD, 4 FPS, 1080p







© KenRockwell.com. All Rights Reserved.

Intro

Specs   Operation   Recommendations


More than

Please help KenRockwell..com

Nikon D3200

Nikon D3200 with included xviii-55mm VR lens.
(26.ix oz./764g with lens, carte du jour and battery, 17.6 oz./498g body-only with card and battery, about $550 with lens). enlarge. I got mine from Adorama (besides in red). You also tin get it from Amazon (also in ruby).

My biggest source of support for this free website is when you use those or any of these links when you get
annihilation, regardless of the state in which you live. It helps me go on calculation to this gratuitous website when you lot get your things through these links — but I receive
nothing
for my efforts if you buy elsewhere. Thanks for your support! Ken.

Adorama pays top dollar for your used gear, specially older model Nikon DSLRs similar the D3100 this replaces. Thank you! Ken.

Nikon D3200

Superlative, Nikon D3200.
enlarge.

Nikon D3200

Back, Nikon D3200.
enlarge.

Nikon D3200

Nikon D3200.
enlarge.

Nikon D3200

Nikon D3200.
enlarge.

Nikon D3200


Nikon D3200.
enlarge.

Nikon D3200

Bottom, Nikon D3200.
overstate.

Red Nikon D3200

Likewise comes in a hideous scarlet version, shown with a rather embarrassed-looking 55-200mm VR.
enlarge.

July

2012

More Nikon Reviews   Nikon Lenses   All Reviews

Nikon D3200 Users Guide


NEW:



Nikon D3300
. The newest 2014 model.



Introduction



meridian

Intro

Specs   Performance   Recommendations


More than

The Nikon D3200 is Nikon’south newest replacement for their least expensive DSLR, 2010’s D3100, which was and notwithstanding is a very skillful and inexpensive camera.

The Nikon D3200 is a wonderful camera for anything. The only reason to pay $6,000 for a Nikon D4 is if you’re a full-fourth dimension professional sports and action shooter.

The D3200 is pocket-sized, light, and very placidity and refined. The D3200 is smaller and quieter than Nikon’s more professional person cameras, which is a huge help when shooting candidly.

While not equally fast or as distracting as Nikon’due south professional cameras,
the D3200 has as much or more resolution than whatsoever Nikon professional DSLR!

The D3200 has more than enough speed for chasing kids, school sports and theatre, and far more pixels than anyone will ever need.

You demand a real DSLR like this to capture yet photos of motion, sports, kids and action. Smaller non-DSLR cameras like micro four/iii, cell phones and point-and-shoots just tin’t focus equally fast as a DSLR to follow all the action.

The D3200 is for people who desire corking pictures. More than expensive cameras are for men who just want fancier cameras.

While I cover all the more than expensive Nikons which are of involvement to hard-cadre photographers, when my friends enquire what camera to go, it’s always this inexpensive D3200.

As of June 2012, this D3200 is brand new and non discounted. The fancier D5100 has been out longer so it sells for a little less, so if this is the case, past all means, get the D5100 instead. Avert the atrocious old D3000 at whatever price, still the previous model D3100 is also a superb camera, and if y’all can notice a new 1 at a depression cost, by all means, get the D3100 instead. 24 Megapixels is baloney; Nikon simply added all the extra pixels to impress amateurs; no 1 needs whatsoever more than three to half-dozen megapixels for annihilation.

The D3200 is the first DSLR to have so much resolution that it really has more resolution than the lens with which it ships. 24 Megapixels are more than anyone needs for anything. Personally, I set my D3200 downward to its lowest resolution, 6 megapixels, for all my photos. half-dozen MP is more than enough for swell 12 x 18″ and 20 x 30″ (50 10 75cm) prints, if you know what y’all’re doing. If you don’t know what y’all’re doing, you’ll get soft images regardless of what camera you use.

Unlike the earlier D3000, the D3200 has more than plenty DSP (processing) power to pull off all of its tricks. Everything works fast.

All this DSP lets the D3200 process its high-ISO images and pull out the noise very well. My shots at ISO 6,400 await great. In fact, this peachy hyper-ISO ability lets one use the kit lens for only about anything in any light. I love my 35mm f/ane.8 lens, but fifty-fifty with the slower kit lens in that location’southward no trouble photographing in low light with no flash.

This new D3200 is marvelous because of its super light weight, only 17.8 oz./505g with battery and SD card, making information technology as light as the lightest Nikon DSLRs ever fabricated. It’southward the aforementioned weight as the D3100, and lighter than the D40.

It adds a new MOVIE REC push button almost the shutter and a much higher-resolution just same-size 3″ LCD as the D3100.

The D3200 has more resolution than any DX DSLR on Globe, or anything from Canon at any price, but no one cares anymore. 6 to ten MP is more than than enough for
anything. North Declension Photo has a twoscore x 60″ (1 x ane.v meter) print on display shot with a six MP Nikon D40, and information technology looks
awesome.
Walk in there some time and see for yourself. Sharp photos come from sharp photographers; the camera is irrelevant.


Lens Compatibility

top

With no congenital-in AF motor or aperture feeler for manual-focus lenses, it but autofocuses with AF-S and older professional person AF-I lenses, same equally Nikon’due south other inexpensive DSLRs.

Older screw-type AF and AF-D (non AF-S) lenses expose and work perfectly otherwise, but you lot’ll take to focus them by hand.

More at Nikon Lens Compatibility.



Specifications




  peak

Intro

Specs   Performance   Recommendations


More than


Sensor

24 MP DX (23.ii x fifteen.4 mm) CMOS.

6,016 × 4,000 pixels native (LARGE, 24MP).

iv,512 × 3,000 (MEDIUM, 13.5MP).

3,008 × ii,000 (SMALL, 6MP).

White Residue modes: Motorcar, incandescent, fluorescent (7 types), direct sunlight, flash, cloudy, shade, preset manual, all except preset manual with fine-tuning.

Agile D-Lighting.

Live View.

Sensor cleaner.

No crop modes.


ISO

100 ~ six,400, expandable to ISO 12,800 (Howdy+i).

AUTO ISO.


AF

top

eleven points: Single-point AF, dynamic-area AF, automobile-area AF, 3D-tracking (11 points).

AF-Due south (focus and lock), AF-C (continuous AF) and AF-A (automatic selection depending on if field of study moves or not.)


Finder

top

Lightweight pentamirror.

95% coverage.

0.80x magnification with 50mm lens (smaller than FX cameras because it’southward 80% of a smaller area).

eighteen mm eyepoint.

-1.seven to + 0.five diopters.

Type B BriteView Clear Matte Mark Vii screen.


Meter

top

3D Color Matrix Meter II, 420 RGB pixels.

Center-weighted.

Spot on whatever of the 11 AF points.

i-TTL flash metering for utilize with SB-910, SB-900, SB-800, SB-700, SB-600 and SB-400.


Built-in Flash

peak

GN 39/12 (Feet/meters at ISO 100).

Does not control wireless flash, you’ll have to purchase the SU-800 to work as commander.


Shutter

top

1/4,000 ~ 30 seconds in third-stop steps.

Bulb.

Time exposures with optional ML-L3 remote command.

Front and rear receivers for use with the optional ML-L3 remote command.

Flash Sync
:
1/200.


Frame Rates

meridian

four FPS, in manual focus and at 1/250 second or faster.

Slower shutter speeds or expecting autofocus to focus for each frame volition slow it down.


Picture Controls


peak

Standard Gen 2 Picture Controls (Standard, Neutral,Vivid, Monochrome, Portrait, Mural).

You can modify them.


Video

height

1080p video with claimed full time AF, but DSLR video AF systems never work well. DSLR video focus can’t rails move, which is the whole indicate of video. For video, I use my iPod bear upon instead because information technology always tracks perfect focus.

ISO 200 – 12,800.

Transmission exposure control and mono microphone. (Stereo microphone input jack.)

1080/29.97p.

1080/23.976p.

1080/25p.

720/59.94p.

720/50p.

(No 720/29.97p or 720/25p.)

640 × 424 @ 29.97p.

640 × 424 @ 25p.

Loftier or Depression compression.

H.264/MPEG-4 Avant-garde Video Coding.

Linear PCM audio.

.MOV file format.

HDMI (type C) and analog outputs.


Audio

summit

Built-in mono mic.

3.5mm stereo mic jack.

Manual or auto recording gain control.

Linear PCM merely as part of video recording.


File Formats

top

JPG, NEF, or NEF+JPG.

NEF (raw) in 12-scrap compressed.

JPG in BASIC, NORMAL or FINE.


File Sizes


top

20.4 MB NEF.

11.nine MB Big JPG FINE.

vi.ii MB LARGE JPG NORMAL.

3.0 MB Big JPG Bones.

i.9 MB MEDIUM JPG BASIC.

1.0 MB MEDIUM JPG BASIC.


Information Storage

top

Ane SD, SDHC or SDXC card, two GB to at to the lowest degree 64 GB.


LCD

top

Exquisite 3,” 921,000 dots.


Data Advice

top

USB.

HDMI, type-C connector.


Ability

acme

EN-EL14 Li-ion battery: 7.4V ane,030 mAh, seven.7Wh.

Rated 540 shots, CIPA, which is l% with flash.

MH-24 Battery Charger.


Size

top

3.eight x 5.0 × iii.i inches, HWD.

96 × 125 x 76.five millimeters, HWD.


Weight

top

17.550 oz./497.5g with card and battery (no lens), measured.

26.938 oz./763.65g with lens, card and bombardment, actual measured.

Nikon rates it at 17.viii oz. (505g) with battery and SD card.

Nikon rates it at 16.0 oz. (455g) stripped.


Quality

top

Made in Thailand (camera and lens).

Bombardment cells made in China, so assembled into batteries in Republic of indonesia.

Charger fabricated in China.


Environmental

top

0 – 40ºC (32-104ºF) operating.

< 85% RH, no condensation.


Price (United states of america)

top

October 2012: $599 with 18-55mm VR lens.

Introduction, April 2012: $699.95 including 18-55mm VR lens.


Included

acme

D3200 torso.

18-55mm VR lens.

EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Bombardment

MH-24 Battery Charger

DK-five Eyepiece Cap

DK-xx Rubber Eyecup

UC-E17 USB Cable

EG-CP14 Sound Video Cable

AN-DC3 Photographic camera Strap

BF-1B Body Cap

BS-ane Accompaniment Shoe Embrace

Nikon ViewNX 2 software CD-ROM


Announced

top

19 Apr 2012.


Shipping since


top

Tardily April 2012.


Accessories

elevation

ML-L3 remote command.

Red Nikon D3200

The WU-1a is hanging out the door.

Optional WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter ($59.95, belatedly May 2012) works
merely
with Android doo-dads, making it useless for virtually of u.s..

If you get it to go, information technology claims to send images wirelessly to these Android doo-dads, and remotely monitor and shoot images for surveillance and unattended hidden operation.

Is the WU-1a really so poorly designed that we accept to leave the door open when it’s connected?

Nikon WU-1a

Nikon WU-1A.


Performance

elevation

Intro

Specs   Functioning   Recommendations


More than


Sample Image

Nikon D3200 Sample Image

French 75 Bistro.
eighteen-55mm VR at 18mm, f/16 at 1/40, Nikon D3200 at ISO 100. Original total-resolution file. This would have been sharper with a flat subject and a smaller aperture; at f/16, diffraction is dulling the image.

The D3200 works great. The D3200 can make fantastic images in the hands of someone who knows what they’re doing, and has loads of internal processing power to accomplish everything it does very rapidly. It’s ergonomically very well thought out and handles and operates marvelously.

Technically it’s unbeaten, and ergonomically information technology’s equally good as a camera with as few real buttons in this price range gets.

Used properly, the images look neat at any ISO, and auto white balance is wonderful under almost whatsoever light.


Finder

The D3200’s finder is bright and abrupt, specially with the slow kit lenses for which it is optimized. It has a very precisely etched screen showing the location of the AF areas, a nice touch.

Better than the D800 and D800E, the AF zones are indicated with light-up LED spots that don’t interfere much with the subject yous’re trying to see. (The D800 and D800E use ugly, obstructive black LCD squares that turn on and off instead.)

Its matte field won’t properly show the restricted field with lenses faster than f/4, simply that’s OK because this is how Nikon got the finder and so brilliant.

The finder certainly isn’t as huge every bit an FX photographic camera or as big as the D7000 because the D3200 uses a hollow pentamirror instead of a glass pentaprism, which is exactly how I’d want a lightweight photographic camera to work.

Better than the D800 and D800E, the D3200 shows exposure bounty to thirds of a stop on its in-finder bar graph. The D800 and D800E but show half-stops, so they don’t show when you’ve only got ±0.3 stops compensation set, which the D3200 does!


Autofocus

Autofocus is fast, silent and accurate.

Set to its default AF-A and Machine-Expanse select modes, the D3200 figures out where and how to focus, and just does it.

The selected points are shown with picayune LED dots. They aren’t that bright, only bright enough.

The auto-area select function is smart, only not as smart as in the D800 or D4. The professional cameras can find a subject’s eye and focus on information technology directly and instantly almost 100% of the fourth dimension, while the D3200 usually, but not always, finds the discipline in your frame.

If the D3200 isn’t finding your discipline behind distractions, which can exist the case, yous’ll have to end and go into menus to reset it to utilize just one AF surface area. Once you’ve selected to select which AF area is used manually, it’south easy to use the rear selector to select them.

The rear selector moves incrementally betwixt areas with each click; a click does non slam the selected AF bespeak al the way to one spot or the side by side.

The D3200 has AF-S (single and lock), AF-C (continuous), and AF-A (automated choice betwixt the previous two modes) autofocus. This is meliorate than the D800 and D4, which now no longer take the AF-A fashion.


Exposure

I find that in one case I set an exposure bounty for any condition, that I go consistent exposures until the lighting changes.

I get the best results outdoors in sunlight with -0.three or -0.7 exposure bounty.

Indoors or in flat lite, I get the best results with no exposure compensation.


Flash Exposure

Daytime fill-wink exposures, indoors or out, are always lovely.

Likewise, flash exposure indoors is always correct-on.

Fill-flash exposures indoors at dark give the usual black backgrounds with little ambient lite and overpowering wink, as expected.


Image Quality

Technically, image quality is fantastic.

Color rendition is superb; the D3200 uses however picture controls, with matching results, to all the other current Nikon cameras. Honestly, the D800 and D800E take a slight green-yellow bandage to their images, so I
adopt
the colors I get from the D3200! (just don’t tell the D800 users that!)

Car White Balance continues to get meliorate with every generation of Nikon camera. With the D3200, AWB commonly gets exactly the results I want under any calorie-free.

I prefer setting A5 color shift for a warmer look; select this with Bill of fare > SHOOTING (camera icon) > White Residual > Car > (click right) > Click right to A5 > OK.

You can prepare different color shift values for each white residuum setting, except on the PRESET (manual gray-menu) setting.


Auto ISO

Auto ISO works great. When you use this feature (I always practise), the D3200 will shoot at your selected ISO, and when the lite starts to get dark, will automatically increase the ISO to maintain the slowest shutter speed you’ve previously programmed.

New for this class of cheap DSLR is that information technology can select the slowest shutter speed based on zoom setting or lens focal length. One cannot select an showtime from the car-selected slowest shutter speed as one tin can in the D4 and D800, but just similar all other Nikons with this feature, you always tin can gear up the slowest Machine ISO speed manually wherever you like.

The auto-selected slowest shutter speed isn’t smart enough to set up itself differently based on whether or not you accept VR on or off.


Auto Distortion Correction

Better than my Canon 5D Marker Three, my Nikon D3200 can correct lens distortion automatically as we shoot, and fifty-fifty better, nosotros never accept to load any lens profiles. So long as y’all’re using an AF-D or M lens, you ‘re good to go right out of the box.

To get this automated every bit-you-shoot correction, just prepare Carte du jour > SHOOTING MENU (camera icon) > Auto baloney control > On. (default is off.)

Roll your mouse over this image to compare two images shot with Baloney Correction ON or OFF:

Shot with included xviii-55mm VR at 18mm.
Roll mouse-over to see epitome as shot with baloney correction ON.

Corrected image

Image as shot with Distortion Correction ON.
(for those of you without mice.)


Ergonomics

Nikon does a great job with its inexpensive DSLRs — better than it does with its professional person cameras today!

Press the exposure compensation button and the rear LCD lights magically so you can see to set it earlier you bring the camera to your eye. The D3200 even highlights the value to make information technology obvious.

The PLAY button is still on the wrong side, demanding a 2nd hand to hit PLAY.

On rare occasion, I’ve somehow striking the [Lv] (Live View) button by mistake, which can waste battery ability and presents me with a perplexing black viewfinder until I realize what happened.

If I choose to gear up my Fn button to fix white balance, I can’t navigate downwards to the other info screen settings.

Setting Fn button to select image size and Quality is pointless considering you lot’ve got but one dial. Therefore with this choice, you have to spin by all the options, and usually will become something wrong. On bigger cameras, this option allows you lot to use two dials, one for size and ane for quality, but with only i punch, forget information technology.

To set the Fn and other controls, these settings are all hiding in the menus under “buttons.”


Mechanics

The D3200 is mostly plastic, with a metal lens mount and tripod socket.

This is perfect: it’s light weight, and the durable parts are even so metal.


Data

When formatted, cards are correctly titled “Nikon D3200.”

Minor Bones JPG files (iii,008 x 2,000 pixels), the manner I shoot my D3200, take a median file size of 700 kB, and can be printed at any size. Depending on the subject, they’ll range from 450kB to 1.1 MB.

Large Basic JPG files (6,016 ten iv,000 pixels) take a median size of 2.6 MB, ranging from 2.0 to 3.ii MB.


Playback

Playback is fast and clear, as we expect from Nikon.

You tin activate and deactivate many different playback screen options in the menus.

By default, there is a stupid 1940s slide-projector playback effect as yo swap to other images. I turned this off as presently as I got my D3200!

If you lot zoom-in with the YRGB histogram screen agile, the histogram shows the values simply for the area to which you’ve zoomed.


LCD

The D3200 has a superb LCD, more color-accurate than the LCDs of my D800, D800E and D4!

The D3200’s LCD is big, bright, sharp and color-accurate. You lot couldn’t really put a bigger screen on a camera this modest.

The LCD is covered with uncoated clear plastic, not anti-reflection coated glass every bit is the ameliorate LCD of my Canon 5D Marker III.

I honey the LCD of my D3200. IN fact, because it’s more accurate and better looking than the LCD of my D800, D800E and D4, I prefer to shoot with my D3200! (I’m not very happy with the performance of the D800, D800E and D4; I greatly prefer my Canon 5D Marking III.)


Ability and Battery

The USA MH-24 charger has a folding plug for travel.

The light blinks amber while charging, and solid when done.

Unlike fancier cameras, the battery estimate is just a iii-segment indicator that gives not that much warning when the battery gets low.

On my first charge, I got 500 shots when the meter first read 2/three, and at 577 shots it read one/3.

I would expect getting more shots than this; I doubtable I got every bit few every bit I did on my first charge because of al the carte playing I do with a new camera — and the 2 times the D3200 set itself to Live View accidentally.



Recommendations


top

Intro

Specs   Operation   Recommendations


More

The Nikon D3200 is the camera I recommend to everyone who asks what camera to buy for great photos of family, friends, sports, concerts, theater and action.

Got kids and want bully action, low-calorie-free and long-distance photos? The D3200 is the camera to get. Paying more than won’t get you much more than other than a lot more weight to have to carry effectually.


Lenses

summit

The included 18-55mm VR is probably all you demand for everything. If y’all’re new to photography, the strongest communication I can give you from 45 years of experience is that its far more important to learn how to employ what you’ve got, instead of confusing the event by buying more lenses, as you’re starting out.

If you demand a telephoto lens for sports and theater, I use the 55-200mm VR. The 55-300mm VR zooms-in a niggling closer, but is bigger and more expensive. Either is excellent.

Personally, I usually use the 35mm f/1.8 DX for everything and exit the 18-55mm VR at home. I rarely utilize a zoom.

The 10-24mm DX is only if yous need
super
broad-angles. (How to employ Ultrawide Lenses.)

If y’all’re counting every ane of your 24 megapixels, y’all’re most likely a computer hobbyist as opposed to a photographer, simply if y’all are counting, the included 18-55mm lens isn’t as sharp as the D3200 tin can be at 24 MP; you’ll want the sharper 35mm f/1.eight DX instead.

See besides the DX Dream Team.


Memory

I use only SanDisk or Lexar SD cards. Anything else is asking for trouble.

If yous detect all the time and expense I incur sharing all this information for complimentary, this complimentary website’s biggest source of support is when yous utilise these links, specially these to the D3200 with eighteen-55 VR from Adorama (also in red), from Amazon (also in red), when you get
anything, regardless of the country in which y’all live.

Cheers!

Ken.



More Information


top

Intro

Specs   Performance   Recommendations


More than

Nikon’s D3200 press release.

Nikon’southward D3200 page.

Nikon’due south D3200 brochure.


Help me aid you lot


acme

I back up my growing family through this website, as crazy every bit it might seem.

The biggest aid is when yous use any of these links to Adorama, Amazon, eBay, Ritz, Calumet, J&R and ScanCafe when you get
anything,
regardless of the country in which you live. It costs you lot zero, and is this site’south, and thus my family’s, biggest source of back up. These places take the all-time prices and service, which is why I’ve used them since before this website existed. I recommend them all
personally.

If you find this page as helpful as a book you lot might take had to buy or a workshop you may take had to accept, feel complimentary to help me continue helping everyone.

If you’ve gotten your gear through one of my links or helped otherwise, you’re family unit. It’s smashing people like you who allow me to keep adding to this site full-fourth dimension. Thanks!

If you oasis’t helped nonetheless, please do, and consider helping me with a gift of $5.00.

As this folio is copyrighted and formally registered, it is unlawful to make copies, especially in the form of printouts for personal utilize. If you wish to brand a printout for personal use, you are granted i-time permission only if you PayPal me $v.00 per printout or part thereof. Thank you lot!

Thanks for reading!




Mr. & Mrs. Ken Rockwell, Ryan and Katie.

Home
  Donate  NewSearch  Gallery  Reviews  How-To  Books  Links  Workshops  About  Contact

Source: https://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/d3200.htm